Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Refugee Angel

As we will be leaving tomorrow to travel to Cardiff I thought I would Blip a last photo of the tree. This time though I thought I would focus on one of the many ornaments that we have put on it year in out and talk briefly about the memories they hold. I must say I had a tussle between the angel and a rocking horse saying "baby's first Christmas" that was bought the year my son was born on that Christmas Day in 1988.
I chose the angel though as its journey into our lives was more eventful.

My husband's grandparents came to the UK as Polish refugees in 1945. They were displaced as a result of Russia's political control over the country during that year following the Yalta Agreement. Dzaidzio (grandfather) was the Polish ambassador in Africa at the time and along with Bapca (Grandmother) came to the UK as refugees. They talked often about their large house and beautiful furniture they had been forced to leave behind and for which they were never compensated. The angel was one of the few possessions the Grandmother brought with her and which she later gave to her eldest grandson, my husband.
Bapca never got over the shock of having to leave the country she loved, despite always being grateful for the welcome she received from the British people. She died on Boxing Day when she was aged 66.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.