andypowe11

By andypowe11

Escher Abbey

This shot of Bath Abbey has been post-processed using an iPhone app called iDroste - it gives images an Escher type feel, wrapping them in on themselves. It's an effect that works particularly well where there is a natural frame in the image (which there isn't here). So this isn't perfect but I thought it was worth blipping anyway.

If you are a Gimp user, there is a module called MathMap which includes a Droste filter that does the same thing but like everything in Gimp I found it significantly less usable than the iPhone app. On the Mac I think there is a stand-alone program available though I'm sure you must be able to do similar things in Photoshop.

There's also various stuff on Flickr, like this tutorial along with various groups, like this one. Search for Droste or MathMap.

Great day at work today - actually feel like I achieved something for the first time in ages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.