FoundWanting

By FoundWanting

Foot power

A good friend of mine was doing one of her regular checks on me this morning, a sort of telecommunicative “prod with a stick” to see if I hadn’t pawned my heart to the two worms of a pacemaker yet.

I was describing to her how for the last few months my sleep patterns were quite disrupted (whose aren’t these days!?!) and I was constantly waking up at stupid hours in the morning and not getting back to sleep until I was just about due to get up.

I told her that this morning I awoke at about 3.00am to the sound of heavy rain. I decided to get up, open the window, and experience the early morning wind-blown deluge whilst snuggled in my pit.

After a few minutes, swaddled in the warm folds of my Ikea duvet, I felt myself drifting back into the realm of Hypnos …. BUT, the window had to be closed otherwise the local squirrels would have an early Christmas robbing my nuts … I have a packet of Tesco Finest Mixed Nuts with Cranberry and Orange on the sideboard ….. I'm sure they know about them ...
So, I unravelled myself out of the warmth, stepped into the cold onto an abandoned upturned boot, twisted my ankle, fell back onto the bed, said some awfully rude words which resonated into the momentarily quiet street, tried again and eventually wrestled the window shut before collapsing back into the comfort and safety of the bed.
A couple of seconds after I hit the floor and whilst resting my head on an upturned boot, I stopped wondering why it took a little longer to reach the bed …..

The lovely thing with the blipfoto family is that there is a perpetual riot of inspiration on an almost daily basis. The idea for this particular solution for closing an open window on those chilly winter nights, I thank Poppy2 and this particular shy, unassuming Blipper.

A length of luminous yellow kernmantel cord is tethered securely twix toe and window latch. At some stage after the start of sleep, not only does the thumb enter the mouth for "num-num's", but the body assumes a foetal position in the bed. This has the natural reaction of drawing the legs (and hopefully at least one of the feet along with an associated kernmantel bound toe) away from the window, thereby closing said portal.

PLEASE NOTE for Health & Safety reasons the cord has to be LUMINOUS YELLOW. The main reason is that if anyone takes the stumbling path between your toe and the window back to bed in the dark fug of night, you may wake up to find your toe missing. And a squizzel might find it hanging on the other end of the kern mantel outside the window ….

Why was it I stopped my medication?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.