Maldo29

By Maldo29

First (real) Camera

Alex received the coolest Christmas gift from his Grandma Sheila today in the mail. His very first camera. When he opened it up and we told him what it was he said "wait, this isn't fake? It's for 'reals'?!" Yep his very own 'for reals' camera for him to capture whatever he desires.

His Grandma, who lives in Hawaii, enclosed a prepaid box to send the used camera back for developing. A copy of the photos will be kept with Grandma and one set sent back to us.

In a letter she asked him to take pictures of his favorite places in his house, his yard, his favorite toys and people in his life. First picture his Grandma will find on that treasured roll of film will be a requested shot of his mommy and him taking a simultaneous picture of each other.

I'm in love with the simplicity of this gift. . . a disposable camera that will produce priceless memories. I'm in love with his raised eyebrow when he shoots (I have my own signature. . . um. . . idiosyncrasies). I'm in love with his parroted language such as "now lets try one without the flash in a low light setting" (no joke). I'm in love with his desire to be an (amateur) photographer like his mommy and most of all, I'm in love with the fact that he has such incredible people in his life that care so much about him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.