hildasrose

By hildasrose

Busy Busy

Just been to the Butcher's to collect our turkey crown (with bacon and stuffing and personalised cooking instructions). Naturally, they were really busy in there but I'm glad I went today instead of tomorrow. We then went to the local supermarket (small version) because I decided we might not have enough food in the house although if the truth be known we probably have more than enough and it will last us through the first couple of months of the New Year. Good job I've got a big freezer. I really am hopeless at judging what and how much people are likely to need.

I don't know how the rest of you are getting on but the wind and rain are brewing up now and it's not supposed to get bad until this afternoon. We've booked evening tickets to go to the Victorian Evening at the Black County Museum (Thank you for the recommendation Saycheese) and I expect it will be wet weather gear and dodging in and out of the buildings. I'm quite fancying some faggots and pays (peas to the non Black Country folk).

I've been thinking about my cultural identity with this because there is a rivalry between Brummies and "Yam Yams" (as people from Birmingham call people from the Black Country). I was born in Birmingham but have always lived on the edge of Dudley and work in the depths of South Wolverhampton. When I worked at Villa Park (in my spare time!) I got called a Yam Yam, but the kids at school think I'm posh! When I was doing my training in Cardiff, I constantly got ribbed for putting the ng on words like putting and singing and adding and extra er on the end. I could never hear the difference! And all my mates had the strongest Welsh accents you could imagine. It's a wonder I ay bin damaged fu loife.

Anyway, ave a bostin day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.