Busier than it looks

The weather was atrocious in Gloucester today, as if you needed telling if you are in the UK! The shops were a lot busier than the photograph indicates, people were not taken to wandering around in the rain and gales.
Every waste bin had at least one broken umbrella in it and I saw many more turned inside out by the wind.

I went down on the bus, the traffic was horrendous but if I'm popping into town it's just easier to use the bus.
However, there was one thing on the list that I couldn't find so I walked the few hundred yards from the town centre to Asda where I knew they had it.
I was doing ok, not too wet after being in town for 3 hours but when I came out of Asda I stood at an uncovered bus stop and the rain changed from gently constant to torrential! The scheduled 'every ten minutes' bus service didn't happen and I had to wait for 25 minutes, by which time I was very literally soaked to the skin, from the waist down anyway. My showerproof coat just didn't cope but my upper body was not too wet but I should have worn my Vulcan hi-vis weatherproof coat!

Just in case anyone is disappearing for Christmas, like Jipsy, let me wish you a very happy, joyous and peaceful Christmas and hope 2014 is kind to us all.
Very best wishes
David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.