December Challenge: Day 23 .....

Light.

I know, I know! This isn't a light!  But there is light behind my little cutie!

Knowing how much I love feeding our local squirrels, several weeks ago R told me about a great website (squirrelnutrition.com) devoted to feeding squirrels a balanced diet.  One of the things the website mentions is that feeding peanuts to squirrels isn't the best thing for them.  And they offer recipes for both 'squirrel biscuits' and 'squirrel nut squares'.  After requesting and reading the recipes, I decided it would be easier to order the kits that they offer for the 'squirrel biscuits'.

Over the weekend we made up a batch and have been drying them in the oven at a very low temperature.  A food dehydrator would have been better as this has tied up my oven for two days!  

Today I wanted to try them out on our squirrels so I threw some out on the front yard.  It was raining quite hard in the morning so I had to wait a bit for the rain to let up.  I wasn't going to spend two days drying these biscuits only to have them get soaked in the rain.  Well, I needn't have worried for as soon as I put them out this little girl snapped one right up!  And so that continued with the few I put out.  I am going to have to keep myself from constantly putting out the biscuits or I will run out before too long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.