Monkey's Fist

Contrary to what you might think, I don't allow myself much beer. Do not get me wrong. I LOVE beer. It just doesn't love me. In any event I DO allow myself a few at Christmas time and intend to do just that tomorrow. Having done a few beer reviews through the year I thought I'd permit myself just one more for Christmas Eve.

My daughter has provided the subject of this tasting. Given that she could not locate a British brand, she settled on this unusual Australian label called Monkey's Fist from a Western Australian boutique brewery named after Fremantle's historic Sail & Anchor pub - a sometime rough house establishment beloved of thirsty nineteenth century clipper ship crews. Evidently when "disagreements" got particularly brisk, short ropes would emerge ending in "monkey's fist" knots which could inflict considerable punishment ... oh dear.

Anyway I have now had a truly delightful brew. It describes itself as a "pale ale" but its light, crisp, blonde style was very definitely a stylish, bitter lager, which responded handsomely to some short while in the fridge. Highly recommended.

In spite of this diversion to Australian brew, I have learned a lot about British beers this year - so much so that I have bundled up a number of them to sample during family Christmas celebrations tomorrow. This brings me to my earnest desire that there be a wonderful holiday season for all of my valued Blip friends. MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE ..... Cheers!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.