Two Keys

One very late night in 2002 I was lying in bed and I wondered "If I wrote a book, what would it be about?" So I went downstairs and started it. Wrote an introduction and that was it.. Went back to bed and when I woke a few hours later most of the book was in my head. Every night for 4 months I wrote the story. It is about two keys hence the tattoo I got. Read further if you like. Below, is the first half of Chapter 1 and I will continue to post some if people are interested in reading more. Or failing that I can email it to people if they want it. It's a full sized novel and no I was too lazy to chase a publisher. It's a wizards and dragons book.

CHAPTER 1

Launlin was alone as was his way. He was a wanderer, to most an aimless vagabond making his way from here to there living off the hands of others. His travels had taken him many, many times across Asgog. He knew every grain of sand in the deserts of Maglow, every tree in the deep forests of Panalia and each blade of grass on the wide plains of Anipish. Only he knew that his travels were not aimless. He knew his purpose and for almost seven hundred years since the fall of Alaef, he had followed his path. He held the Key of Alaef and his destiny was to find the One. Many times he had failed in his quest. Many times the heir apparent was within his grasp and yet each time, the evil Saun had destroyed his ward. Each time, Launlin knew in his heart that he had erred in his judgement. He had known that the One had not been found and he started his quest anew. After each of his failures, the words of the prophecy came back to him.

The Wizard shall be the seeker and in the least likely place he shall find the One. And the One will overthrow the might of the evil Lord and bring love back to the land of Asgog.

And so his search continued? From the lowly villages to the evil high courts he watched and waited and watched. He took his council from the great dragon, Drom, one of only two, still in existence. After each failed attempt at finding the One, he returned to the dragon?s dwelling in the high mountains above the forests of Panalia to seek solace and find the courage and strength to start again.

?But Drom, everything pointed to the lad? everything. I found him in the scullery of Worshey Castle washing pots and pans?.
?Yes Launlin? was the reply from the great dragon.
That particular response had grated on Launlin for centuries. Every time he returned here after a failed quest and recounted his tale to Drom, that was the standard response.
?Yes Launlin. No Launlin. Did that really happen Launlin??
It grated on him so much, that had Launlin not been so fond of hearing his own name, he would have changed it many years ago.

Heedless of the drone of the dragon?s voice he continued. ?I still remember the first time I saw him. Grease from head to tail, hair all messed up and soot wiped across his forehead. It was his eyes that caught me first. They had the colour. You told me they would be that colour?bright blue you said, the One will have eyes the same colour as yours Launlin you said.?
?Yes Launlin.?
?And the lad had them, bright as can be.?
?Yes Launlin?.
?And so I watched. I knew I had to look for the other sign, the mark of the key on the arm and later I would see if he was to be able to hold the Key of Alaef. It was easy for me to watch because I was always at the back door of Worshey Castle worming a scrap or two and the odd ale from a little serving girl with the white hair and pigtails. Nobody took any notice of me there, except to push me out of the way when they wanted to get through.

That?s what you said, ?Eyes likes yours Launlin?and that same mark as you have on the arm and the One will be able to hold that big key you have? that?s what you said?.
?Yes Launlin? came the drone. Drom had heard it all before. He knew that drone annoyed the wizard but he had heard the same story over and over again so it was his little piece of revenge.
?Why do you do that?? asked Launlin.
?Do what?? came the deep reply.
?You always do that. Yes Launlin. No Launlin. You know it makes my teeth grind?
A smile creased the dragon?s lips. He wondered how many times over the years that particular interaction had occurred. ?Because I want you to know I am paying attention old friend.? Launlin gave his the usual sideways glance and shrugged his shoulders.
?As you should be. Now where was I? Oh yes.. As is my way, I watched and waited. I knew I would have to wait for bathing day to see his arm properly. Bathing for the scullery lads was not for another four days so I made myself comfortable. Well the little serving girl made me comfortable, she liked to give me a scrap or two, even an ale occasionally. She fixed it so I could sleep inside near the fire to keep warm. She had nice eyes too. A pretty green.?

?It was interesting watching him. No one paid much attention to him. He just did what he had to do. Scraped the pots and pans and tried to get away with what he could. He sometimes tried to skimp a little on the cleaning but every time Cook would catch him and give him what for. But he just took it and went on with his scrubbing. He noticed that I was watching him but he didn?t take much heed. The third day seemed to drag on and on. I had the usual feeling of anticipation. Over and over in my mind it went. Could he be the One? He has the eyes.. What will I do if he doesn?t have the mark? Will he be able to stand up to the training?? This also was a discussion Launlin had been through many, many times.

?Finally bathing day came and I made sure I was in the just right place to see his arm. And it was there.. He had the mark. I let out a whoop that gained me some strange stares I can tell you but I didn?t care. However, it was the jig I did, that had me thrown out of the castle. You should have heard the language, it was terrible. I had to apologise profusely for two days before the little serving girl would talk to me again. But she did in the end and I had the chance to talk with the boy. He wasn?t very willing to come into my service so I had to force the issue and buy him from the steward. Cost me one half-copper, outlandish. So he joined my service. The next day we said our goodbyes and left Worshey Castle?

?He just walked with me the first day and didn?t say much. I could tell he didn?t really want to be with me.? Launlin smiled. ?It didn?t take him long though to try and get away. The first night he tried it. I kept him there with a small spell that made his feet numb. I couldn?t let him know straight away could I? He just thought it was dumb luck that it was very cold on the first night. The second night though was warm and when his feet were numb again he started to ask questions. He couldn?t understand why his feet went numb as soon as he lay down to sleep. At first, he didn?t believe me when I told him I had put a spell on him but when I lifted it and then put it on him again he started to get the idea. After that he came along a little more eagerly.?

?He was forever asking questions. It was a constant drone?? the wizard stopped and looked at the dragon, ?almost as bad as you, Drom. ?Can you change this to gold? If I squash this bug, can you bring it back to life? Can you make me disappear?? But he was a quick learner. Most students take weeks before they can concentrate well enough to move things around. It took him two days. Two days! That is extraordinary. After that, I named him Rush. He was only twelve when we started. He loved learning the tricks and the spells. You told me that all folk with the mark of the key had some ability in the arts so I knew he would be able to do some things but he was good. I also had to teach him fighting skills. He never quite got that right. He was quick but even I was quicker. I gave him more than his fair share of nicks and cuts. In the end it was that lack of speed that was his downfall.?

Launlin paused and sighed deeply as he remembered more. ?For ten years I trained him. Block, parry, thrust but in the end it did him no good. I told him over and over again that his test would come as soon as he held the key for the first time. I told him I could not help him, that Saun?s chosen champion could only be faced by the bearer of the key. I told him that each time the key was handed on, Saun would send a champion to fight for evil against my latest charge. If my charge was defeated, I would take the key back and begin all over again. I don?t know what would happen if by chance someone else picked up the key before me. Do you know Drom??

Launlin didn?t wait for an answer he continued with his tale. ?But his sword let him down. I had a bad feeling that it would. Saun?s champion was well chosen. They always are. He was fast. He wasn?t a match for Rush in the spells department but he was quick with his sword all right. Too quick. Once he had fended the initial barrage of Rush?s spells he moved in and taunted the lad. He slowly cut him to pieces. Saun?s champions never have been merciful. They have always made death slow and painful. Some have been sorely wounded but still they risked death to taunt and play. It was sad to watch his fall. I really liked the boy.? Laulin?s eyes misted slightly, then he continued. ?So I am to start again. I will spend my days searching once more. But not now.? He looked tiredly at Drom, ?I need to rest old friend. I need to lay down and sleep.?

When the wizard finally drifted into an uneasy sleep, Drom looked down at the small man lying in front of him. He had spent many nights watching him sleep thus. He had a great fondness for the wizard. It was a fondness borne from watching him toil to fulfil his task. The dedication of Launlin had been a wonder to the dragon. He had always thought men to be fleeting and undisciplined. Any that he had known had always given up when things went awry. But not this man, he had stuck to his task for almost seven hundred years. That was a speck of time to a dragon but long in man-years. Drom had seen the sadness in Launlin?s eyes at the loss of his latest charge. He knew his friend always invested himself heavily in his apprentices.
The wizard stirred and called painfully ?Rush?Rush? What have I done??
It was hard for the dragon to watch his friend suffer but he knew it could be no other way.

The morning rose cold. The sky was blanketed in grey clouds and winter was in the air. Launlin woke and rolled over. He looked at the sky and moaned. He thought back to the days before and as he had in his dreams, he replayed the events. A deep sigh came from his lips and his breath steamed as he let it out. Rush was dead. There was nothing he could have done to save him and yet, he was responsible. He tried to convince himself that there was more he could have done to train the lad but he knew there was nothing. That however, was no comfort.
He looked over at the dragon. Drom?s eyes were closed.
?I know you?re not asleep Drom. You only sleep in Spring. This is not Spring, it?s Winter. You only have your eyes shut to make me feel better. Well it?s not working.?
?My, my. We are testy this morning aren?t we?? came the soft reply.
?I am sorry my friend. You know how I feel but there is no need for me to take it out on you.? said Launlin ruefully.
The dragon?s reply startled Launlin. ?I watched you sleeping through the night, you loved the boy, I can tell that. But you can only follow your heart and the signs. I would never trade places with you my friend. I could not bear the sorrow you endure. You are a very worthy man. One day the whole of Asgog will know the worth of your labours?
Launlin knew dragons well enough to know that he had just been paid a compliment worth more than all the treasure in all of Saun?s hidden vaults and he managed a faint smile.

He stayed in Drom?s dwelling for two more weeks. At first he slept fitfully and ate rarely but as time wore on and his talks with Drom became longer and more easing, he began to eat and sleep well. In the evening on the last day of the second week, Drom spoke to him at length of the days of long before and Launlin sat back and was contented.

At the completion of another long tale, Drom looked at Launlin and simply said ?Launlin my friend, it is time for a new adventure.?
Launlin knew in his heart that as always his friend was right.
The next morning he gathered his belongings, the few that he had and put them in his pack. He looked once at his huge friend, smiled deeply and winked in his impish way. No words were needed. They never had been at such times. After silent nods of recognition from both, Launlin left. He didn?t look back; he just walked out into the cold of the Winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.