Hay Bale Minions

My sister and I had to go back down to Moeraki today - so it felt necessary to go the few kilometres further on to visit Blaze's cross. I'd had this horrid feeling (totally irrational I know) that someone might have tampered with it, so wanted to check it.

It was not only still there just as it should be, but someone had added a bunch of flowers (see my blipfolio). They are clearly from someone's garden and had been left just today I would think. I assume it was a local who left them, and therefore a total stranger. To whoever it was who took them (and climbed down the 10 foot ditch to leave them), Thank You. It was a beautiful gesture.

On our way back to Twizel we had to stop in Oamaru for groceries and I discovered this great wee shoe shop where I (totally inadvertently) bought a gorgeous pair of shoes for myself for Christmas.

Driving through Kurow we stopped to take a photo of the bale minions. I like the fact that they are presiding over a sign wishing us Merry Christmas from Richie McCaw - one of New Zealand's greatest All Blacks, who was raised in the locality (the middle of nowhere).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.