a modest enquirer

By lewishamdreamer

Calm Before the Storm

Five months ago G and I walked in the water on this beach. It was warm, perfectly tranquil and there were oddly very few people there. Now the sea was positively violent, the wind was fierce and cold, but it was no less enjoyable an experience. I wished G had been with me, cursed my iPhone for cutting out, but relished the oncoming sunset while the sun was still just visible!

It's been a very long time since I lived here. It's a beautiful place but I remember how lonely and isolated I felt. We nearly moved back to the US in the late 80s, and I'll always wonder how that would have turned out. Would we have exchanged one small community for only a slightly larger one? I'd certainly not have the people around me I care about now, and would be a lesser person for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.