Chums

Delhi is blessed with many parks and they have paved or well beaten earth paths through them. In the early morning there are lots of joggers and people keeping fit at the different stations where convenient bars or platforms have been provided. There are lots of stray dogs around which makes it impossible to leave the main paths with Pablo and his morning friend and strike off into the jungly bits which is a shame.

Today I went with the driver and Kamal (the cook) to the huge wholesale vegetable market. Neither can speak English and I have little Hindi but I thought I made it clear that if I lost them, or they me, I could get back to the car through the only entrance where the tolls are paid. Well of course in the hustle and bustle of the busy market we got separated and after a while I got tired of the endless questions of what I wanted to buy, to take this person's photo and not to take that and went back to the car to ensure the chaps weren't waiting for me. They weren't so I went to the only exit and waited there, getting into conversation with the inspector. We had a cup of chai together sitting on plastic picnic chairs in front of his office and eventually the chaps came back with their loads of vegetables saying they had been 3 times round the huge market looking for me and asking if I had been seen (I was the only westerner there) and phoning Yelena to say I had disappeared. Poor things, they were so relieved when they saw me - it will give them something to talk about all week I expect.
market photos here

I wish everyone a very peaceful and safe Christmastime - be well and happy - and thank you so much for all for the lovely comments that you have made on my blips

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.