louielouie

By louielouie

The Clydebank Titan

Running my last few 'Santa' errands today I took a detour down to the banks of the Clyde to snap this leviathan of a crane. Titan.

There was a storm brewing all around and I could hear the wind 'humming' through the metalwork making the sound of ghostly ships horns from a bygone time.

They built and launched the QE2 from the very spot where I took this photo.

I watched Sting the other night performing songs from his new musical play 'The Last Ship Sails' which is set in Newcastle. This got me thinking about the maritime heritage of Glasgow and the Clyde and was the inspiration for today's Blip.

Back to Santa duties for me now, have a wonderful Xmas Eve. It is the best day of the year don't you know?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.