Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

Christmas boats in Scarborough harbour

Boat owners and skippers add their own magic to Christmas by decorating their ships, little and large, with multi coloured lights. All for a good cause too, Marie Curie Cancer Care charity, as they take part in a 'best boat' competition organised by the local Sons of Neptune environmental group. It'll take a few more Christmases to become the Blackpool illuminations of the East coast, but it's become a Scarborough Christmas traditional after just a few years.

This photo was taken after a request from the Sons, as my old paper in the town didn't have a photographer available in the evening. I shot the event this time last year, while I was a staff photographer, little knowing how completely different my life would be in the next 12 months. So I can't think what the future year will bring...?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.