Christmas Eve

I can't believe how organised we've been this Christmas - resulting in a relatively relaxed Christmas Eve. Pete tidied the family room (finding two pairs of Alex's earphones in the process) while I cooked all sorts of bits and pieces to be eaten over the next few days. Much of the cooking was done while listening to the Festival of Nine lessons and Carols from King's College, Cambridge - although I'm not a religious person this always sends shivers down my spine and marks the beginning of Christmas.

I even had enough time to take Rosie out for a very breezy walk at lunchtime, but once again we've got off much more lightly than much of the rest of the country. I saw no real damage from yesterday's storm, and while the river is high, it isn't flooding yet. I feel so sorry for all those who have struggled to get home to loved ones, are suffering from flooding or have no electricity. It's certainly turning out to be a very turbulent winter.

Just after eight, we sat down for the first special meal of the festive season - roasted venison fillet with a sloe gin and blackberry sauce, glazed caramelised shallots, hasselback potatoes and tenderstem broccoli. This was followed by a decadently rich dessert of Cambridge creams - a sort of chocolate creme brulee. I only cooked enough of the dessert for two (supposedly) but it fed all four of us quite happily. It was very strange not to have Chris and Lizzy with us, but I'm sure they're having a great time on Kho Pha-ngan. We're thinking of you. xxx

Anyway I hope all blippers everywhere are having a happy and safe Christmas, and wish everyone all that they hope for in 2014.

Sarah x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.