antipodean

By antipodean

An Aussie Christmas!

Merry Christmas, everyone! (Or Merry Wednesday if you don't celebrate!)

We had a lovely low-key Christmas here. Dad and I did pancakes for breakfast and then spent the rest of the morning cooking and cleaning for lunch (actually, Dad did most of it, but I did help a bit!). Mum arrived at about midday and we celebrated Christmas with a few glasses of sparkling before exchanging gifts (just vouchers this year as we decided to do a donation instead of buying lots of presents for each other - although I did make nougat for Mum and rocky road for Dad!) and sitting down to lunch. I definitely ate way too much turkey, but that's to be expected!

After lunch Dad and I headed to my aunty and uncle's for tea. There were quite a few family members there, including my cousin Tim who lives in Darwin and who I haven't seen in ages, so that was nice. We were offered Christmas pudding and all sorts of other things but I was so full from turkey and cake that I just watched everyone else eat (and find the sixpences in the pud!). Tim and his boyfriend James and I went for a walk later on with Steph, who I used to work with and who is a good friend of Tim's, and her boyfriend and her dog. It was a properly hot Christmas this year so it was nice to be outside but we all gave up halfway through (actually mostly the dog gave up) and headed home.

The rest of the day has been spent on the sofa digesting all the food I've eaten.We're watching Bridget Jones which, despite not being a Christmas movie, begins and ends with Christmas so I've decided it counts as one. I hope everyone else has had an absolutely lovely day!

This is Steph's dog Coco, who is adorable and hilarious - she got really hot and needed a drink, but she likes to use the drink tap like a human so Steph had to hold her up while James held the tap on. I really like this photo, actually, and while it's not particularly Christmassy I think there's been enough pictures of Christmas lights and mince pies on this blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.