stujphoto

By stujphoto

Belhaven Salt Marsh

I don't think I have blipped this before and yet I am out most days on these salt marshes with the dogs. I do not think anything can match the rather bleak beauty of the salt marshes especially under the low winter sun. I guess I got attracted to take a picture by the lovely wind ripples in the foreground pool. These pools come and go according to the tide and the water level.

During the winter months the salt marsh itself can be completely covered by sea water at high tide so woe betide anyone who is caught in the far dunes which back onto the beach as they become completely cut off for a couple of hours and the marsh becomes very soft and soggy if you step on the wrong bit.

Maybe a bit grim for a Xmas Day blip but the water ripples are worth looking at LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.