Aspiring Amateur

By MegB

Artful Angel

It takes some thought to make a perfect good snow angel.

The feeling of making one carries me back to childhood but, unlike the times of being a child and simply falling in the snow to do the trick, I plan my annual ritual now. In recent years it seems like it's been in February - or maybe January. The snow has to be just right (the fluffy kind is best) and it has to be deep enough so as to not show the grass (or in my case for this snow angel, the sand). Ideally the sun should to be out, too. Who wants to look at an angel in the gray gloom of an average winter day?

Imagine my glee when all factors were a go on Christmas Eve! How magical! (Wow, a silver lining for me with all this snow we have - that's saying a lot.)

It was a 5-star day! Not only was the sun shining & patches of blue sky visible I got to spend time with my husband prior to attending our family Wigilia at the home of my sister and her husband. And a most wonderful Wigilia it was! Wigilia is the traditional Polish Christmas Eve meal. It is not duplicated at any other time of the year and it is as good as you remember from one year to the next. Being together with family is the best at any time but especially at this time of year. I spent time recalling last year with fondness because it was the last Christmas with my Dad who died almost a year ago at the age of 95. He was healthy and sharp all the way to the end. A most wonderful man and he and my Mom surely were smiling down at our Wigilia.

My favorite part of the whole day was when Louis, my 6 year old great-nephew, came bursting into the room stating excitedly, "I have on Pradziadek's tie!!!"
("Pradziadek" is Polish for great-grandfather. Louis was wearing my father's tie and for him to be excited about it was so... well, joyful!)

Angels.

Merry Christmas, fellow blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.