Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Christmas day

I never expected to be posting a photo of the flooding in Cobham on Christmas Day - still, these things cannot be predicted. I feel very sorry for those who have been without power and in even worse conditions, and have had their Christmas Day spoilt by the flooding. In all my years of living here I have never seen the water level so high.

After we woke up we went down to see the flooding in the High Street. It is not every day that you can say there were swans and ducks swimming in the High Street! The river has completely burst its banks and the road through Cobham has been closed. The river is looking very swollen, as can be seen here.

We had a late breakfast, then opened presents, and then I cooked lunch which we only got to eat after the Queen's Speech. It has been a lovely and relaxing day but now I need to tidy up and pack as we leave early tomorrow morning to go skiing - hopefully the road to the airport is okay and we can get past all the flooded areas.

I wish everyone a wonderful Christmas, and I hope you have all had a lovely and relaxing Christmas Day. I have not had any time to look at journals but hope to do so in the next day or so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.