Daily Wild

By emyjane

Out of nowhere

Best viewed *larger*

For years I watched the flashing lights of the lorries at Meeth Quarry & then suddenly they stopped. For years I watched it empty & then suddenly the news came through that the Devon Wildlife Trust had purchased it... & then it was open! And here it was today, this is the larger lake of the two - although there are at least two dozen ponds around the site too. We did visit in the Summer - in fact on the official day of opening & then once again not long after, but then we didn't go again (no time for doorstep outings) until today. Perfect sunshine, blue sky, I took 282 photographs, I haven't done that in such a long time! They're doing a special thing at Meeth, selling an acre of it to anyone - either grassland, woodland or open water, for another Christmas present from my dad, he's going to purchase an acre of grassland for me... something I'll always have now - you get a map of where exactly it is & I'll be visiting regularly & recording what grows & comes :) Unfortunately by the time we got to the lake, the sun had disappeared behind a cloud... so that's why it's darker then usual in this picture.

And...

Best trees

After such a lovely day, the weather has come in again, as they predicted. Lashing rain & gale force gusts - it's set to continue like this throughout the new year! I hope everyone has had a restful boxing day :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.