a modest enquirer

By lewishamdreamer

Martin and Mark

I've agonised over this one. Because I forgot my charger I haven't been able to use my Sony NEX camera, leaving only my iPhone to hand to get this adorable portrait of my school friend Martin (right) and his husband Mark. They've been together a few years now but this was the first time I'd met Mark, who turned out to be a delight. In honour of his honesty - a character trait which shone out from him quite noticeably - I'm adding the picture unedited. I haven't been able to improve the grainy imperfection and have come to the conclusion I don't need to.

It's very strange having gay friends in Guernsey. The island I grew up on was also the place I was unable to connect with my sexual orientation, and as beautiful as it is here, I've always felt out of place. I sort of made friends 17 years ago with a guy who tried to set up a gay night in a local pub but it didn't last long and we fell out of touch. Connecting with these two this visit helped me feel a lot more comfortable in my own skin and to enjoy Christmas more fully. I'll always be grateful and hope to visit them again with G in 2014!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.