It could have been worse

My friendly neighbour Jimmy just knocked on the door and said "we have a bit if a technical problem".

Some how the high winds had lifted this chimney pot cover. It is a square and material is lead - Amazed that the wind got under it and worked it loose - I do wonder if the evicted Jackdaws have a hand or rather a beak in this ?

Anyway the problem was it was off my chimney but on their roof.

A plan was hatched we could see it out if their loft window at the back of the house. I said we could use the clothesline pole which has a hook on it to haul it back up and in. Jimmy being and engineer had a piece of steel with bolts on it to do a similar job. It was slightly short, Jimmy and I being of similar modest statute but Jimmy's brother in-law was on hand to help. Gordon is a real man with a proper long reach and did the job easily.

Good neighbours are a big advantage in life and I'm very lucky in that respect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.