Jennie West

In the early hours of today I found out the most kind lovely women passed away far too soon. I was fortunate to know her for just over two years but she made a difference to me and I will take with me her kindness to others - if I was able to be half the woman she was in terms of how she gave to others and took the time to make sure people felt at home reassured and cared for I would be a proud woman.I first met Jennie when I came to my first meditation class In coventry - she immediately stood out as someone not afraid to speak her mind - her husband had recently died - dropped down dead apparently - but left her with no money and she had to soldier on - I don't know her back story but she had tough times - her son struggled with depression and emotional problems and turned to Buddhism as a way to calm his mind - he would come to the class to assist Lisa and I think Jennie used to come at first as a way of seeing her son. She used to make me laugh as I really don't think at first she believed in any of the buddhist or meditation philosophy - she used to say she'd go to sleep in the meditations and on certain topics she would say it was a load of baloney but after a while certain concepts started to sink in especially concerning the concept of reality and what you choose to carry with you - I think it really did make a difference to the way Jennie viewed the world. She always looked out for me and asked about my job. She seemed to know everyone's name in the class and something about them and made them feel so welcome even for the first timers when coming through the door can be a daunting experience - she was the one making the tea and handing out the biscuits and making sure everyone was OK. She would tell me repeatedly not to take any rubbish from anyone and don't carry their crap with me - it was weird the last few times I saw her she talked about the fact she was ready to go - and she knew her son would be cared for - it was almost like she wanted to go and didn't feel she had anything more to live for.

But it is important we learn from those we encounter no matter how brief and for me Jennie will teach me 

- never to prejudge others take the time to get to know them
- never be afraid to speak your mind
- don't just go with the flow have an opinion
- be kind to strangers - you will never know how much it means

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.