Village of Simena, near the Mediterranean, Turkey

Hubby stayed behind in Antalya and relaxed. I noticed that he was pretty much himself again when I got back, and is doing just fine, for which I'm grateful.

Spent my day on the road (no, I was not behind the wheel) with a group of German tourists and German-speaking Turkish guide. Because I couldn't pick up 95% of the lecture but also because I'd hardly had any sleep and also because the road was zigzaggy through the mountains, I slept much on the way. When we did finally stop, though, and not for the coffee break, the scenery was quite picturesque.

First a boat ride to Simena and Kekova. The waves weren't as rough as two days ago but it was cold when the wind blew. For some reason, though, I wasn't all that cold; neither was I seasick, which is an improvement, really. Afterwards a yummy lunch in Demrè, a village actually built some 6 meters above the ancient town of Myra ... which is where St. Nicholas comes from! So I did do something in connection with Christmas, after all, although my reasons were more historical than religious. The funny thing was that all this time I was 'out' in the bus, a really fat Santa Claus-like guy sat beside me, complete with red cheeks and white moustache. After lunch, we went to the necropolis with the tombs in the rocks, and then he said, 'Oh by the way, my name is CLAUS!' I burst out laughing, really couldn't help it. He laughed as well and assured me he wasn't joking.

I don't know if I should have planned my winter break just sleeping or lazing, but that somehow wouldn't have been me. The sleeping and lazing are done, I guess, when I need to rest on a working day. Downright queer, I know ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.