Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Nightmare After Christmas

I have been a bit lacking in the photo imagination department lately and today I made to effort to get some much needed photo material (and fresh air). The reading yesterday kinda helped!

The winds were blowing like crazy lastnight and continued to do so today and this blip is an example of that - streaky clouds & trees alive 'n' kicking. I went to a place called Eastham, which is an area I have blipped a few times before. Eastham is situated on the Mersey, opposite the (Eastern) Liverpool Waterfront. It was so windy I had to stay "under cover" as my tripod kept shaking in the wind. Here are some photos from today on Flickr.

This water tower is something I spotted on the way back home. It reminded me of the book "The White Mountains", which I read in the early 80's (or my teacher forced us to listen to). It had these monsterous alien Tripods, similar to those in The War of the Worlds, which used to give me nightmares. The BBC made a TV series in the mid-eighties called The Tripods, which was loosely base on this book.

I shall be returning to this tower again soon.......

Nightmare over: on returning home, my son & his mum made a ginger bread house, which I am looking forward to munching into!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.