Things that have never been

Friend and art teacher Jude Siegel turned 67 on December 26. For her birthday she invited five of us to join her in her studio to make “gratitude cards,” little cards we will hand to random strangers. We shared quotes and bits of poetry we love, and we sat around Jude’s work table with paints, glue, collage materials and crayons.

My card says, “And now let us welcome the New Year, full of things that have never been.” --R.M. Rilke.

Gratitude is where I am living. So much life is happening that I haven't found time to take pictures of it. I had Christmas Eve with Sue, Christmas dinner with Bella and her parents; Sue joined me again at Jude's party and after, and I took her to the airport this morning so she can spend a week with her California family. I had loving phone conversations with my distant children and grandchildren and with dear friends; there are emails and Facebook messages, Blip comments, cards and gifts and thoughtfulness. The privilege and the blessing of connection spirals around and through me. Connection. My heart sings.

My life is connection, passion, joy, and wonder. I am overwhelmed with gratitude. Never, never before in all my long life, have I been this happy. All beings take hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.