Wynyard Escalators, trains

Went to an exhibition today, Suburban Noir, with Michael.
I was expecting to see photographs from police forensic photography, taken in the 50s and 60s.
Instead, there were interpretations of the photos by Sydney artists.
No actual photographs.  What a copout.
When I asked on the way out why this was the case I was told they were deemed to be too 'confronting'.
Very disappointing.
I was interested as much in the social history shown in the photographs, as they were taken purely as records, often in harsh flashlight, and exposed the aspects of life that are largely forgotten: furnishings; food; gardens.  The ordinary.
I'm pretty sure they must have been pulled at the last minute.
Bah, humbug!!

When I was a child I always hung on very tightly to my mother's gloved hand when I went on these escalators. Not so thrilled, even now.
A quick google revealed some interesting facts, interesting perhaps for Sydney blippers.

The Otis "L"-type escalators in the York Street entrance were relocated from Milsons Point, where they were installed to connect the temporary Milsons Point train station with the temporary tram terminus at Glen Street. Milsons Point station had apparently been moved to allow for the building of the Dorman and Long workshops necessary for the building of the bridge.
Wynyard Station was opened on 19th March, 1932, the same day as the bridge.
With the opening of the bridge, both the temporary railway and tramway stations were removed and the escalators relocated. The escalators are encased in timber veneer panelling and have timber treads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.