The Idle Photographer

By keithyd

Up and Down

My PowerShot G5 has one of those new-fangled twisty rear screens, so I could pretend to be playing with the camera while actually taking shots. This is the Pottieries Centre in Stoke, and I was intrigued by the mirrors above the down escalator and how it showed people going in the opposite direction to those going up (of course). I took loads of shots before a decent one turned up ... and I particularly like the spooky arm at the top of the frame.

Then a security woman came along and asked whether I was taking photos - fortunately I had a photo magazine open on the Starbucks table in front of me, so I explained that no, I was just playing with my new toy ... but she had to get on her walkie-talkie to tell the Camera in the Sky, in case He'd seen me, that I wasn't actually taking photos. After all, I could have been a foreign spy. She was very nice about it, though. But then I was bigger than she was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.