The curse of the broken crayon?

A broken crayon,
Arrived by post from afar.
An invitation,
To some secret adventure,
Or a mysterious curse?


Things sometimes just happen to me.

I received an air mail letter in the post, apparently from Hong Kong. It had a customs slip on the back, so all seemed legitimate. Intrigued, I opened it, to find nothing inside except a broken childs crayon.

I thought at first it might be dusted with some deadly poison, but I suffered no ill effects. I tried colouring with it and it is a rather bright, some might say, lurid, green.

Maybe I am meant to draw a picture with it and send it on to someone else?

Maybe it contains hidden microfilm full of secrets ... or a tiny key to a safety deposit box containing valuables. Or perhaps a treasure map .... oh that would be fine!

Sadly I came to the conclusion it was probably some sort of scam but I couldn't quite work out what, so I googled "crayon in post" and discovered that others have received these and that it is probably a scam to do with faking the delivery of an item ..... Apparently the scamming company sends out a worthless item to random address and then uses that tracking number to issue to the hapless client being scammed. The client then sees the item they "bought" been shipped and delivered to their country (but with with no specific address details), so they can't claim their money back as the thing they bought appears to be "delivered".

I'm not 100% convinced about this, or that it would work, but clearly something odd is going on.

However, I am going to believe that this is an invitation to an exciting mystery adventure .... watch out, you may receive a crayon drawing in the post .....


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.