John Muir Mud

I took a notion to do a long-ish ride this afternoon and when I went into the garage to choose a bike, the little On-One was jumping up and down like an eager puppy. "Oh, alright then," I said and patted his saddle. I bolted on a rack, stuffed stuff into a pannier, apologised to the rest of the bikes and shot off.

It was very muddy. The wind howled from the west, right in my face for the first half of the ride. The muddy, hilly, gale-force conditions were pretty hard going.

The little fellow has no gears, no suspension, crap brakes, drop bars, skinny-knobbly tyres and well... he's kind of small as well.

Perfect!

We had a great afternoon, you can have a look at the ride on Strava recorded via iPhone GPS.

This photo is towards the end of the day, as the sign says "East Linton 2 1/2" miles so about 7 miles to home. The howling westerly was at my back for the last few miles and I arrived home glowing.

Another day in the hills planned tomorrow, thinking of starting from Deuchrie and heading east, visiting as many Trig points as I can. Should certainly shake off the Christmas excess!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.