cj308

By cj308

The Temptress

Off on holidays over the xmas period, so I'm trying to make the most of it by getting out and about, when the weather isn't being torrential.

Took a trip up to Glasgow today after discovering there is a Jack Vettriano retrospective on at Kelvingrove. His work has been recently giving me some ideas with regards to photography so it was a joy to discover this was on. There are over 100 paintings on show I believe and for me it was too much for one visit, also being holiday time it was rather busy, so another trip up before it closes will be in order.

There was one painting I was hoping to pick up a print of, unfortunately there doesn't appear to be one available, I also liked this particular one called The Temptress, it's very seductive and just drew me in, quite the effect I expect the artist was hoping for. I love a lot of his work, in particular the men & women series, it has a classic film noir feel to it, very dark and with an appealing narrative, but it's a narrative you are left to explore for yourself.

The exhibition is definitely worth a visit.

I took a walk along the Clyde to head back into the city and to get some photos whilst I was down, always looks nice lit up at night, it started to rain, so I had to put the camera back in the bag to keep it dry, not 5 mins after I done this did a couple walk past me sharing an umbrella huddled close, it was just like a scene from Vettriano, I stopped to wathc them walking past but couldn't bring myself to dig out the camera, by the time I had got my settings on it, the moment would be gone, and I didn't want to be chasing after them clicking away like some maniac. curse the rain!

Went to pick up a couple of records too back in town, I'm really starting to love record shopping again and buying vinyl, and being a lover of Jazz & Blues, I can pick up some great bargains on some great albums. Today I got John Lee Hooker's Travelin' & an impulse buy of Jimmy McCracklin, Sings. Never heard of the guy before but with the blurb on the back claiming "Imagine being able to take equal amounts of the versatility and showmanship of Ray Charles, the driving beat and clever lyrics of Fats Domino and the blues feel of a Jimmy Rusing and Jimmy Witherspoon."
Well I couldn't resist temptaion!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.