Blue Planet Photography

By blueplanetphoto

The Desolation of Fog

Hope you all had a great Christmas and are looking forward to a fun, successful, and prosperous New Year.

Walking along the lake shore in the fog at the end of the day, with coyotes howling in the unseen distance, alone, a bit cold, I was in my element. I'd actually gone out to get some milk but changed my mind and went for a walk in the fog instead.

When I posted this on Facebook, people were surprised it was an iPhone image. About 99.9% of the photos I shoot on the iPhone are also processed using one or two apps. I don't further process them on the computer except for special instances (licensing or fine art printing).

iPhone, Android, whatever, I consider them either Small Format or simply smartphone images. The actual device used to make the photograph is irrelevant. I'm often frustrated with the concept of technology as the "solver" of the inability to be creative, or to the thinking that technology is the only path to creativity. Sure, I used technology for this image, both in its capture and processing (it's nearly impossible not to these days), but the technology did not select the scene, the point of view, composition, or the processing technique used. If it could, I would have stayed home cuddled nice and warm and sent the camera out to shoot instead.

From my past experience on Blip, this is mostly not the case with many of the contributors here, however.

The new year awaits our transition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.