Theleens

By Theleens

The Steamie

I went to The Steamie for 8pm, when the open mic started. I'd been out with my mum and aunts for tea earlier and mum and I shared a cab to The Steamie where she continued homeward. Whilst home for 10 days I was determined to play live in my home town, for the first time EVER. 'All that shyness over the years has to come to an end here' I thought. And end they did.

As I walked through the door I scoured the place with my eyes. Up ahead, at the very end of the bar were amps, guitars and mic stands. It was not too difficult to figure out where my footsteps would next take me.

As I approached the makeshift stage a woman turned around, smiled and walked towards me. 'Are you Kathy?'. 'Yes' I replied, and shook her hand.

Martina had a distinctive look: dark red hair with amazing rose tattoos growing on her left upper arm. She had a welcoming smile.

I put down my guitar, took off a rain-laden coat and got myself a drink. I chatted with Martina about how long the open mic had been going for and about the differences between what she and I are each used to.

I'd borrowed an old friend's acoustic but Martina offered me her Takamine. It was red. Of course.

Danny had already started jamming with his electric guitar a while when David Stewart arrived with his sax. I'd seen David on Facebook and realized he knew my cousin Kevin because they used to play at the Dalriada's Sunday folk session (Kevin plays fiddle). I introduced myself, explained the family link and bought David a pint.

David and Danny played together a good while, which was great listening. During their break time Martina asked me to come up and play. I sat down and played some blues, especially having see how these guys pick things up so quickly.

It was a real blast not finishing a song in its traditional time but to enjoy ad libbing and playing a little longer. They guys did a great job with Fairytale Lies. So much so I thought I'd try a blues-song-in-progress no one has heard. It felt bloody great playing the same chords over and over again but ad libbing with my vocals. Total freedom. Just amazing.

A half hour playing went quickly. As I got up from my chair and walked to where I'd left my drinks I saw two old school friends I had not see in years. Hugs, smiles, and much catching up of words amidst loud music. Too much to say in too little time but a crowd of us are meeting next Friday so we knew we'd catch up properly at that time.

During that time Martina played. She's got a real musical presence about her. Very much worth listening to.


I got back up on the wee stage and played some more songs before having to leave at 10pm to head to Ryries for my next open mic. But, not before thanking Martina and Danny for making it such a great night.

This place has the makings of a super new venue. Good musicians came on after me. Loud, indie, and wild and rhythmic. Just great!

I'll get together with Martina and Danny one last time next week, for just one hour and for an hour - before the open mic officially starts at 8pm - and the eve of my return to the States.

Pretty cool exit if you ask me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.