Journey Through Time

By Sue

Egret

Bill and I went to the Ridgefield Wildlife Refuge today, along with half of Clark County it seemed. My goodness, what a popular place. We did get to see a lot of activity and some interesting birds. Well, at least it was much better than in the last few trips when we were lucky to see anything. There were Hooded Mergansers, Pin Tail Ducks practicing their synchronized diving techniques, Buffleheads, and this egret which was about as close to one as we've ever gotten. Eagles were flying high in the sky, checking out the dinner situation. Swans were talking up a storm and occasionally flying from here to there. Geese were resting in the grasses and coots were bobbing around, not realizing they might be on the menu for the eagles. We were so grateful that the fog was lifting and the sun even tried really hard to break through the clouds. I put some of the photos on Flickr. To be honest, I'm not that happy with hardly any of them, but I'll leave them there for now. I'm a very frustrated wildlife photographer. It is beyond my capability, I guess. The heron is okay, but he was really close to the road.

Bill is off to the Trailblazer basketball game with his good friend, Frank. I hope it's a good game for them.

Anyway....I'm so far behind I don't know if I'll ever catch up with everyone. Such is life.

Take care

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.