Walking away from the light

We've had so many good days over Christmas but the time is coming when I have to get my head down to some work. The light this morning said "come hither" so we did, off to the woods on the military land over Frimley way in search of sunbeams, stopping only for the occasional frosty leaf. It was difficult to choose a blip but I liked the contrast in this one. The Turkey curry was good. Pippa wore her Sunday best coat.

Approaching two calendar years of continuous daily blipping now and I'm looking forward to observing my new year's resolution of blipping when I want to rather than as a daily ritual. Time for the dog to start wagging its own tail (no not Pippa, I mean me). I'm grateful to Blipfoto for giving me a reason to get out there with the camera - it's made walking the dog more interesting. But, frankly, there are days when a picture simply doesn't merit and the idea of an "emergency blip" seems a bit forced to me.

I love the community too but I'm not too enamoured by the merit system which ignores so much good photography and where stars, too often, are exchanged like Christmas cards (I'll send you one if you send me one) among the various cliques. I don't mention when I have given stars and rarely look at Spotlight because, with a few exceptions, it's the usual suspects. I mean, who wants to look at dogs wearing Christmas hats? Whatever floats your boat, I suppose. That said, I still prefer this place to those ultra critical communities where people wet themselves over histograms and dynamic range. I think I can break the addiction but, unlike just now, I'm not looking forward to the cold Turkey. If I'm coming over as a bit of an old curmudgeon, nothing could be further from the truth. I'm just a curmudgeon (who enjoys sophisticated humour).

How to make money (also how to advertise). Me? I have a beard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.