Mates

By Mates

Cowboy Confidential.

It's another joke about Tad being horny! But hey, check out the backgrounds. I've got them in motion, eating ice cream, walking down stairs, and then...into a subway. I was living in San Fran at the time and not exactly loving it, but the Muni had become such a part of my day that I thought every city person did that. (He wrote as if he wasn't from the smallest city in Ireland) It's a crude joke, but any time I can poke a hole in Tad's ego, I go for it.

The Gap Guy is one of my favorite jokes, and I will reuse it when I redo the strip next summer. A quibble: Tad's thought bubbles are darkened in, which you only do if the character is angry or in a bad mood - which makes the joke a little weird, then. I was trying to differentiate it from the background - I was just starting to really get the hang of Photoshop - but it didn't work. There are a thousand of these things in cartooning that I could have learned if I'd just read a single book, but I was determined to learn everything the hard way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.