Helwild

By Helwild

Sunset at Doxey Marshes

Seem to be getting up later each day as the holiday progresses but once my other half had set off for Shrewsbury (football match), I decided to head off out for a couple of hours.

My aim to visit all the Staffordshire Wildlife Trust Reserves had started earlier this year but I haven't made much headway. So off I went to Doxey Marshes near Stafford.

Had a really good afternoon watching birds from the hide. Notable species were snipe, goosander, teal and lapwing. What's quite amazing is the proximity of the M6 motorway as the hide is situated next to junction 14. And the West Coast mainline railway also runs along side the marshes.

I waited for the sun to set before taking this.

On my way home I dedcided to call in on a friend in Stone. Funnily enough she'd done the same to me! I was trying to contact her as she was sitting outside my house in Newcastle-under-Lyme. Luckily, we have another mutual friend in Stone a few doors away from her house so we eventually met there!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.