This is a selfie but you will have to look hard to see why. A bit like Where's Wally Now? A self reflection, which I seem to be doing a lot of lately. New Year is a good time for that. This morning listening to a CD of music from 1968 has me drifting back into my late teenage years after I escaped from a small country town to start studying in the big smoke in Adelaide. It was the time of Vietnam War protests, hippies, Communist Party talks on the Uni lawns and in the midst of all this I was a naive and socially awkward country boy, overwhelmed by change. It was not all bad because I got to hear the new rock music that was rarely played back home on the local Radio 5AU. The Woodstock film was an inspiration for me and there were great bands playing free concerts at Uni, like The Masters Apprentices and Daddy Cool (both Aussie bands). When I could afford my first LP I bought Ten Years After's 'Ssssh' and my second was "Stand Up' by Jethro Tull. Looking back that far, life almost seems like a movie that I watched one time, not quite real. But the music is real and recently I tried to get a copy of another favourite album from those days, the Super Session by Al Kooper and (the wonderful) Mike Bloomfield. I can't find that one yet but have found another, later session, and that is what I am listening to now. If you want to feel groovy and get a little taste of those times listen to this.

Happy New Year everyone. Feel groovy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.