Me And My Shadow Saying A Begrudging "Yes" To The

We are going to a wedding on Saturday. I haven't been to one in donkeys years, and I have just discovered that my wardrobe is deemed "inappropriate". If you remember from my holiday packing photos, my clothes are either black "too funereal for a wedding" or white "might upstage or be mistaken for the bride", at my age I highly doubt it! Honestly, who comes up with this stuff? So the daughter and I headed out to the shops this afternoon to find something that was more "appropriate". Unbelievably I came back with two dresses, a fun, flirty red lace minidress with cool floppy sleeves, and a Ralph Lauren knock-off of that engagement dress, that screams "old lady" with draping that hides a multitude of sagging bodily sins, and which despite being navy blue, looks reassuringly black in a certain light. I poll a few trusted friends as to which is better and they all disappointingly point to this sedate "mature" navy one, rather than the red one, (apparantly red is not "suitable" for weddings either, and one even suggests that I (yeuch) dress it up with pearls. I don't feel old enough to wear stuff like this and fear I may instead have to dress it up with a sequinned Union Jack thong!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.