PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

Red-winged Fairy Wren

Malurus elegans

Happy New Year's Eve to me!! A new birdie that I've never seen before! Isn't he just gorgeous? Lovely early morning spent birding with two lovely new birding friends. We went to Bungendore Park (lots and lots of cockies!) and then headed to Wungong Dam where I got this little guy, as well as splendid fairy wren, new Holland honeyeater and some much better shots of birds I've already photographed in my personal big year challenge (run through a facebook group called 'Australian Birds').

The red-winged fairy wren is another endemic bird to the south-western corner of Western Australia. Here's a little bit of extra info for you :)

Bearing a narrow pointed bill adapted for probing and catching insects, the Red-winged Fairywren is primarily insectivorous; it forages and lives in the shelter of scrubby vegetation in temperate wetter forests dominated by the Karri (Eucalyptus diversicolor), remaining close to cover to avoid predators. Like other fairywrens, it is a cooperative breeding species, with small groups of birds maintaining and defending small territories year-round. Groups consist of a socially monogamous pair with several helper birds who assist in raising the young. There is a higher proportion of female helpers recorded for this species than for other species of fairywren. A variety of vocalisations and visual displays have been recorded for communication and courtship in this species. Singing is used to advertise territory, and birds can distinguish other individuals on song alone. Male wrens pluck yellow petals and display them to females as part of a courtship display.

How cute is the male??!! I'd love a yellow petal if I was a female fairy wren! Hehe

Thank you all for supporting me through my rollercoaster ride that was 2013... I sincerely hope I have a better 2014 and wish you the very best for 2014!

Happy New Year
Xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.