Puthu Valsara Asamsakal

31st December in Cherai = Elephants
Each year there is a celebration with decorated elephants and local music a sort of piping .. and drumming. The elephants are such magnificent creatures and thankfully there are many more controls now on when and for how long and where they can be used. So they were later this year and that way avoided some of the heat of the midday sun. I find them very moving creatures I have seen them in the dark when they are walking back home and they move so silently and so fast .. and their dark shapes against the palm trees and the night sky is a remarkable sight .. This however was at the start of the ceremony as they were walking to the beach … So the end of another year. I cannot think of where else I might want to spend it and having our son with us this year makes it very very special …

Puthu Valsara Asamakal - Happy New Year ... to you all my friends

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.