Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Out with the Old

I've blipped this church before as I can see it from upstairs in my house.

It's Crieff's Old South Kirk and I think it was Episcopalian, but the Piskies built a new church at the other end of town and basically moved out of here. When I first moved to Crieff in 2002 it was being run as an Antiques Centre - full of slightly ponderous Victorian style stuff. A bit old fashioned really.

That venture ended and the place has been empty since about 2005. It has now been bought by a local developer and the Council has just grante planning permission to turn it into a small hotel with self catering accommodation and - wait for it - a Hammamm style spa. Whic is apparently Moroccan. I've no idea what makes a Moroccan spa different from an ordinary spa but I daresay we'll find out. The early proposals also included a restaurant and whisky bar so they might or might not also still be included.

There have been a few objections lodged on the grounds of parking availability but otherwise the plans have been uncontroversial. Most folk will no doubt just be glad to see the building getting some money spent on it! I just might blip its progress :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.