SnapperJude

By SnapperJude

BERNARD AVES 1923-2013 RIP

What a terribly sad way to see in the New Year.Just found out this afternoon that Bernard,our dear old family friend of many-a-year passed away 6 months ago without us knowing.
As a child I was obsessed with Spitfires,Hurricanes and especially the Lancaster Bomber.I was always to be found in Gamleys after saving up my pocket-money to buy another Airfix kit.One day after my Dad mentioned to Bernard I was building another model he just came out and said that he flew Bombers in WWII.
When asked why he'd never mentioned it before he calmly said he never liked to talk about it as it was 'just a job' as he put it,and it just had to be done after being conscripted. Everyone was shocked when he told us this seeing as he knew I was so interested in all things RAF,but he just pushed the War to one side as it was in the past.We had already known him a long while so can you imagine how excited I was as a kid to actually be in the company of someone who piloted the Mighty Lancaster..from then on I just pestered him constantly about the War until he finally gave in a told me some of his exploits.

In his time with Bomber Command he flew Wellington's,Stirlings and Lancaster's.He survived a crash in a Wellington that ended up being a fireball at the start of his career,then moved up to the bigger Stirling Bomber for a short stint before then going onto the Lancaster.He told me while on one operation deep into Germany the Lancaster was caught in search-lights & then hit by heavy flak on the Bomb-Run and a 4 inch piece of shrapnel came through the cockpit and ripped into the seat and stuck between his legs about 2 inches away from 'ruining his manhood' as he said in that so 'British understated way'.He gave me that bit of shrapnel as a memento.
Other stories told were of bringing the Lanc home beaten and battered on 3 engines and other such sights and sounds that were best left unsaid.

He completed his Tour of Duty with 33 operational sorties in all.

So now to the photo I wanted to share. That's Bernard top centre with his crew..He is 22 years young,pipe in mouth as always!.I don't think I ever saw him as a child without that pipe glued to his lip
I love this photo,its so powerful.All ready to go on an op,notice the parachute in the foreground and the bomb-trolleys all empty as the Lanc is fully loaded,fuelled and ready to go.

I'm so very sorry we could not have seen you off one last time.Not knowing you have passed on is very upsetting for the family as we would had been there for your memorial.Rest in Peace my friend.....

One Last take off for you

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.