paperTIGER

By papertiger

Concert.

We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams.

-- Arthur O'Shaughnessy


{backblip}

Today, as part of my freelance work, I had organised for some of our Brass musicians to perform at a School Christmas Concert as part of an ongoing partnership we have with the school's music department.

The musicians played both alongside the pupils and on their own. I took this photo at the afternoon rehearsal as the young people got to help select the Brass Quintet's programme for the evening.

One first year girl I was chatting to announced to me that her instrument was the saxophone and that her instructor had told her that by Easter she'd be good enough to play in the Caird Hall. Her eyes lit up. I asked her how long she'd been playing. "Two weeks," she said, proudly. She spoke with infectious enthusiasm about the pieces that would be performed that evening, who would sing the solos, who to watch out for - "I'm giving all the good secrets away, aren't I?" and we laughed.

I could practically see her dreams being conjured as she spoke.

Totally lovely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.