Reasons to smile...

By Lauraiea

Another year


So this is my"awkward turtle". To see one in action click here.

A reliable source (brother) told me this was the *thing* to do in situations to relieve awkwardness when I or someone else had put their foot in it. However, it has not been widely recognised in my group of friends and I've had to explain it to them, defeating the purpose. Today, I used the awkward turtle in a social situation and no one knew what it was, giving me a look but carrying on the conversation (awkwardly). It was an incredibly awkward awkward turtle. Another (younger) friend says I should have used the awkward turtle babies in this situation. It is a whole other language- however made me think perhaps I'm no longer "young enough" to use such gestures.

As my mum pointed out the other day so kindly "you're an adult, almost 26!" (To which I replied "SHUT UP" in Kevin teenager style.) So maybe in 2014 I will grow up and be all mature and stuff. Probably not though (not tonight anyway, I ironed my collar with my straightners and drinking vodka and diet irn bru out a plastic beaker).

Have a fun hogmany and all the best for 2014 everyone!

Laura x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.