G2EWS

By G2EWS

Pewsey Downs Just Before Sunset

With my back feeling better I headed for Arkwrights just north of Swindon in Highworth. Only to find they were closed! A fine wine and whisky supplier of world wide fame closed on New Years Eve! What is the world coming to?

So I carried on to Burford. I was fortunate enough to go to boarding school in Burford in the late 60's and had a great time. I took photos to show you the dormitory, three large stories high where they threw boys out of the window and into the hedges below! Luckily for me when I arrived it had been banned!

The boarding school stands next to the beautiful Church and I took some shots showing both. Along with a shot of the seat by the river in the graveyard I would go to in the middle of the night to ponder my lot in life. Inevitably the graveyard would be covered in a low lying mist! But this lad had many happy times and thoughts there. It was sat on this very seat at the tender age of 14 that I coined this phrase which I have lived my life by:

Every day is a bonus, none are guaranteed.
Chris Grew circa 1968

After a quick trip to Witney to see my family and chat about the interment of my Mum's ashes I headed home.

As I came down the hill by Alton Barnes White Horse I saw the light on the Pewsey Downs and quickly found a safe place to park up and get a shot.

I love this view and the sun was still in the sky and casting awesome shadows.

As I cannot be with all of you my great blip friends, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your families a very Happy New Year.

Best regards

Chris

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.