OlyShipp

By OlyShipp

Please don't flush

Well it's been a momentous and unforgettable 2013 - and blipfoto has played its part in helping me to both recognise events in my own life, and to record them.

For me, this was always a 365 project: I was looking for something interesting, different and new for the year, so I undertook to take a photo every day. I've completed it, partly because of my stubbornness and questionable sense of priorities, but also as I've loved doing it.

In particular, blipping has helped me to be much more alert to the photogenic in the everyday. In my case this ranged from early January's golden post box which I used to cycle past unawares, to, um, late December's quirky toilet seat. It has also made me think a little more about what makes a good photo (a daily public post at least made me try a little harder). And rather than replacing my blogging, this was just an opportunity spout forth as before, now on a daily basis!

So what about 2014? Well, I've decided agreed not to continue blipping as before.

But this doesn't mean my hopes and dreams will be flushed down the loo!

The daily blip was a great challenge - much harder than it sounds - and I'm glad to have achieved it. To be honest, though, it was also a bit of a burden for one as obsessive as I - Katja will be rather happy to see the end of this particular project...

But with every end is a beginning, and so for 2014 we will set up a new blipfoto account, on a different basis: it will be for both Katja and I together; it will be on an occasional rather than daily basis; and it will focus largely on one subject - our forthcoming baby.

May your hopes and dreams come true. Happy new year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.