Sydney

By Sydney

In the clouds

I was able to rearrange part of my day to drive up and look at the falls again without ice. At least that was my thinking...but though I could hear it rushing and tumbling, hurling itself over the precipice, it was nowhere to be seen. I hiked up and down trying to get a clear view but it remained enshrouded in the manner of Marley's ghost. Fog we have a fair bit of in Seattle and typically it's uniform in thickness and stoic in its behavior, mist I see often rising from the lake surface on cold winter mornings when the water is warmer than the air. So I thought it was fog or mist that was circling around me, creeping over my feet as they stirred the air kicking as I sat on the edge on cinnamon colored bracken and soggy Salal (otherwise known as the landscaping). But it didn't act like fog exactly, it came in waves and sank from above in rolling hippos of whiteness, gamboling, turning and reshaping along, then breaking apart to reveal water frosting around rocks far below. I happily decided these were clouds that were sneaking into my sweatshirt and filling my hood. How fun to be in the clouds in the mountains!

Though the waterfall remained as cloaked as my future is hidden from view but as I sat in the clouds singing softly my carols I found peace in my heart and excitement, not fear I might have found once before. A good day for the end of the year, I'd say!

I wish you all happy new years to come stuffed with joy and merriment for you and your loved ones!

Happy 2014 :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.