Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

New Year's Making

Happy New Year, all.

Today started early, with the lad in our bed, after waking and crying about a sore throat. Joy. Long time to get back to sleep. Woke early.

Out for a run at 5:30: a quick 5km and I felt fairly invigorated.

Then I set about making stuff, as you see in this pic: a paper model of Yoda (Miss 8, whose book of models it is, sort-of-pretended to help); most of a billy-cart for the kids (I just need to attach the wheels, and the front with steering rope ... oh, brakes too xP); most of a bird-feeder with the off-cuts and a branch I had lying around - I kind of felt like Gandalf, walking around holding it. ;-) As my hands are soft hands, they became munched hands (well, the right did anyway, as seen here).

Larger look.

Then I cleaned the bird crap off the deck. Seriously, dinosaurs; clearly no-one's ever told them you don't shit where you eat. xP That's a big driver behind the making of the bird feeder: I'll put that down on the lawn by the roses I think, and they can poo to their hearts' content; it's a small lawn, and not one the kids play on, or indeed on which anything happens.

Lovely dinner, trying to understand why the children get utterly barmy every night and are utterly incapable of following instruction for more than 2 to 5 seconds, will continue with the reading of The Hobbit, and then peace.

I was going to photograph the Milky Way, as it's been beautifully clear all day. But Clouds. Sod.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.