antipodean

By antipodean

New Year's Eve

Happy New Year!

Well, somehow, without me quite realising it, 2013 has been and gone. It's been a funny old year and I've got really mixed feelings about it. It started brilliantly with the fireworks in London with my oldest friend, and included three months spent in England finishing up my amazing exchange. It almost feels like my year properly started when I got back from England - after the initial excitement of seeing all my friends and family again, I settled into a rather boring few months while I waited for my final semester to start. Uni has been a major low point this year, but in contrast the big high point has been getting into two photography courses next year. I've made some amazing new friends and kept in touch with people I was close to in the UK, and hopefully that continues next year. I've got a lot to look forward to in 2014: new course, new job and (hopefully) new home. I'm pretty damn excited.

I had work today and although I thought it would be a major drag it was actually okay. We had a fairly steady day and we got to pack up a bit early, which is always nice. I'm still enjoying the job and I'm really looking forward to the paycheque I'll get after working so many days!

I headed straight home to rest and get ready for tonight's festivities, which were at Wazzy's house. He lives pretty far away so Henry picked me and Julia up and drove us via Michael and Phoebe's houses. It was a looong drive but eventually we got there and got partying. It was an absolutely brilliant night with great tunes (mostly from the 1990s/early 2000s, amazing), a lot of alcohol, an intense game of beer pong and an adventure up on to the roof (in the cold, sober light of day I realise that was a stupid thing to do but we all got up there and back down again without injury so I'm trying not to dwell on it!). I stayed up until about 4:30 before admitting defeat; the others stayed up for the sunrise before crashing. It was exactly the way you want to spend New Year's - ringing it in at a great party with all your friends.

So I took this from the roof with my new camera - I took it along last night to get some instant photos, and I got seven awesome snaps (and two duds, oops). This is actually a long exposure of the fireworks and while I wish I'd timed it a bit better to get more of the display in, I really like this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.